

knowledge | creativity | inspiration

### DECATUR PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

### ANNUAL BOARD MEETING

#### **MINUTES**

**Staff:** City Librarian Rick Meyer

Robert Edwards, Asst. City Librarian

Date: February 21, 2019 Meeting time: 5:40 p.m.

**Location: Decatur Public Library Board Room** 

**Board Members** 

President:

Mark Sorensen

Members:

John Phillips

Donna Williams

Amy Stockwell

Samantha Carroll

**Gregg Zientara** Michael Sexton

Dr. Ngozi Onuora

Louise Greene

**Present:** Mark Sorensen

John Phillips

Donna Williams

Dr. Ngozi Onuora

Amy Stockwell

Louise Greene

Samantha Carroll

Absent: Michael Sexton, Gregg Zientara

**Guests:** 

### **Call to order – Mark Sorensen**

Mr. Sorensen called the meeting to order at 5:40 pm.

### **Non-Resident Card**

Motion to approve the 2019 non-resident fee to be \$86.37 by Mr. Phillips, seconded by Mrs. Carroll, unanimously approved

Mr. Meyer discussed the formula method for arriving at the amount.

# **Annual reports for 2019**

Mr. Meyer discussed the annual reports that were in the board packet. There was discussion about the various reports. Motion by Mr. Phillips to accept the 2018 fiscal reports presented, seconded by Mrs. Carroll, unanimously approved

Mr. Meyer spoke about the increased customer satisfaction as measured by the Happy or Not survey machine. Mr. Meyer said that the general circulation of materials was slightly down throughout the year, however he felt that the audiobooks and the cds were the main reason for average circulation numbers being down.

### **IPLAR**

There was discussion about the various sections of the IPLAR and the information provided on the form

Motion to approve IPLAR report by Mr. Phillips, seconded by Mrs. Greene, unanimously approved

## **Election of Officers for 2019/2020**

Slate to be presented: Mark Sorensen, President; Donna Williams, Vice-President, and Louise Greene, Secretary. V. Committee and Liaisons

There was discussion about the slate officers.

Mark Sorensen was elected to be president, Donna Williams to be vice president and Louise Greene to be Secretary

Motion to approve the elected officers by Mrs. Carroll, seconded by Ms. Stockwell, unanimously approved

The board agreed that Amy Stockwell be appointed to be Chair of the Finance and Properties committee, Dr. Ngozi Onuora be appointed to be Chair of the Property, Personnel and Public Relations committee and Michael Sexton and Mark Sorensen continue to be liaisons for the Foundation board.

### **Public Comments**

None

### Adjournment

Motion to adjourn at 5:56 pm by Mrs. Carroll, seconded by Mr. Phillips, unanimously approved

Scribe, Robert L. Edwards Assistant City Librarian